Home » Uncategorized » This is odd …

This is odd …

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

I went outside, about 30 feet away from house, turned on the device and turned in a slow circle. Look at the following screen shots of the resulting EM spectra. I’m wondering why the first strong line appears at 261 Hz. Also, note the transient but significant EM noise at around 10 Hz.

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 6.31.55 PMScreen Shot 2017-07-24 at 6.30.49 PMScreen Shot 2017-07-24 at 6.32.38 PM


10 Comments

  1. yewie56 says:

    >> Also, note the transient but significant EM noise at around 10 Hz.
    Please be aware, that electronic devices show an 1/f noise!

  2. yewie56 says:

    >> I’m wondering why the first strong line appears at 261 Hz
    Please verify, that the frequency scale is really correct!
    Generate with another instance ( Not a PC!) testfrequencies to calibrate your test arsenal. Always validate it before you can use observations!

    • Agreed. I’m doing my learning and testing in full view. I’ve got a few very experienced people looking over my shoulder here, so to speak, and I welcome that. But back to the calibration, you’ll note that I got a strong line right at 60 Hz when I brought the unit close to an active outlet. Stay tuned.

      • yewie56 says:

        Ok. Sorry, i did not read the other posts from you, Then i had found it. No discussion on frequency accuracy so far.
        Another propose on the 261 Hz. Maybe it is sourced by the audio recorder. If possible change recording device like using the pc. But then you will see other frequency peaks . :-(( But then you can possible disclose 261 Hz

  3. Micah Stewart says:

    So what is the difference between the blue lines and the purple blobs?

    • Signal strength/density, I presume. You’ll note the massive pink-purple spike in the previous pictures when I turn the device on. I cover a lot of bases with this Hum research, but this sort of electronics work is something I am learning as I go. I have experts hovering over this as we go, however, and it may well be a few weeks before we have confidence that the device does what it purports to do, and that I am using it correctly. Stay tuned.

  4. jimvandamme says:

    Could you post a wav or mp3 file of a snippet of what you recorded? Maybe somebody could figure it out. I presume it’s not the local AM station with Rush Limbaugh ranting, or your cell phone sending out handshaking pulses… but looking at a spectrograph, you don’t know if it’s Liszt or a lawn mower ignition.

  5. RT Scott says:

    Interesting news story from the CBC

    Canadians in Cuba were also treated for hearing loss, Ottawa says amid U.S. probe of possible attack

    Confirmation of health issue comes day after U.S. says diplomats in Havana targeted by sonic weapon

    http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/cuba-canadian-diplomat-1.4242033

Leave a Reply

