Home » Uncategorized » Another 1000 entries added: we now have 16,000 Hum Map points

Another 1000 entries added: we now have 16,000 Hum Map points

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

The upload went well. I spent some time looking over the world locations, trying to find or see any unusual patterns. As an example, I thought I saw some unusually low-density reporting from areas in Spain. But when I did a population density overlay of that country with the Hum Map, there was a strong correlation, just as there tends to be everywhere. As a second example, I did a quick case study of the single report from Sisimiut, Greenland. I dug into the industries and infrastructure there, wondering if perhaps a 24 hour per day seafood processing factory might be the culprit. I found nothing conclusive from that quick look.

Please let me know if you see anything that doesn’t look right.

Glen


12 Comments

    • Henrik says:

      This posting ended up in the wrong place, but is not worth a new main track…

      I mentioned in my original posting about medications. There are thousands of write-ups on medicine side effects on the Web, but a good starting point is always Wikipedia and its literature references.

      Benzodiazepines may cause hyperacusis, and a long list of antibiotics may cause irreversible tinnitus and/or hearing loss: Quinolones (e.g. ciprofloxacin, levofloxacin), aminoglycosides (e.g. gentamicin, neomycin, tobramycin), chloramphenicol, erythromycin, tetracycline, doxycycline (=vibramycin), vancomycin, polymyxin B. Of these, the group quinolones (including ciprofloxacin and levofloxacin) is further said to cause “irreversible damage to the central nervous system” (at WHO prevalence ‘uncommon’ = 0.1%-1%).

      It is not always easy to dig up the generic names of your medicines or the group your antibiotics belong to, but for Hum hearers it might me worth the effort, and then to take a look at your medication history.

      I myself almost surely got my tinnitus (a 8,650 Hz whistle) from antibiotics. If a medicine has been cleared by the health authorities for general sale, most doctors choose them based on their desired effects, not based on possible side effects, if you are otherwise healthy. The fine print inside the pill box clears them from responsibility. In fact, this is not criticism; that is the whole purpose of the FDA clearance. If we are hit by one of the side effects, that is our bad luck, especially if it happens to be irreversible.

      So in my humble opinion there should be a good reason for Hum hearers to be interested in the correlation and possible causative connection between your medications and the Hum. Since the above mentioned medicines are already known to affect the hearing system in certain individuals, the above list should also be a reasonably good take-off point for further studies into the Hum by medical experts.

  1. TINMA says:

    I started taking vitamin D3 at 1000 u a day…my hum went away……

  2. Janet Menage says:

    I hear/feel the hum in all areas of my house, but have recently noticed that it gets much louder the nearer I get to the roof area. The house is detached and has chimneys, so I wonder whether the chimneys funnel sound?
    Also, I recently bought an EMF screening headcover made of silver bobbinet but it doesn’t reduce the hum, despite allegedly reducing EMF by 99.9 percent. I now think the hum must be actual sound/infrasound, (ie. as recorded in my bedroom (50Hz at 20dB)), rather than some other kind of nervous system response to an external stimulus.

  3. Janet – You said: “….. must be actual sound/infrasound, (ie. as recorded in my bedroom (50Hz at 20dB)),…..”

    Did you really make a recording? Where did the 50 Hz and 20 db numbers come from. If you relay did succeed in recording an acoustic signal I wonder if it is from power transformers. Are you in a 50 Hz country?

    Interesting account.

    Bernie

    • Janet Menage says:

      Hi Bernie, the local Environmental Health officer made a recording with sensitive equipment after I complained about the low frequency noise in my house. He captured the trace on his computer and copied it to me. He suggested that 50 Hz was compatible with the frequency of electricity but the Hum is still present with all my electrics switched off at source. He said the noise was omnidirectional so no clue as to its source. He said when the volume of the recording was turned up it sounded like the noise of an aircraft taxiing. I’m not sure what you mean by power transformers? Where would they be situated?

      • Thanks Janet –

        Outstanding. If some equipment recorded data, I suspect your hum is not the classic Hum, but rather a real sound. Further I am guessing you live in Europe or Australia (50 Hz) as opposed to US or Canada (60 Hz).

        You did not say (I should have asked) how loud your hum is in other locations (if heard) or if you can block the hum with pillows, etc.

        You do say that it is louder as you move toward the roof, which makes me suspect a power distribution transformer (often a grey metal trash-can-like assembly way up a electric power pole (like above and near your roof). Typically they serve several homes nearby. The assembly may be vibrating – some seem excessively noisy. You often can easily hear them from he ground. Turning off all your switches wouldn’t effect that much. BUT, I would have expected the “officials” to have found that easily. Any big (building sized chain-linked fenced-in power distributions (“substations”) nearby?

        If you have the copied trace and would not mind sharing it, I would love to see what the crew recorded.

        hutchins@ece.cornell.edu

        Possibly getting somewhere.

        Bernie

      • Janet Menage says:

        Hi again Bernie, I live in rural West Wales with no big power equipment nearby. I switched off my electricity at source, not individual switches, & it made no difference. I don’t just hear the Hum, I feel it as well, vibrating my head, eyes & chest & creating a pressure feeling inside my ears and skull. I can reduce the Hum by about 50% using high-density earplugs made of ‘Bluetack’ wrapped in Clingfilm plus a pillow over my head. The vibration is still there, however, & is just as irritating. Sometimes I’m awoken at 4am and have to turn the radio on to mask the Hum (a bit – it doesn’t mask it fully but enables sleep).

        I hear the Hum almost everywhere I go, whether rural or city. It is worse in rural areas & near the coast, I find. I slept in my campervan on a local beach where there was no mobile phone signal & no powerlines, & I still heard it there. I only started hearing it 18 months ago so I’m guessing there has to be a trigger or maybe a cumulative LFN load which starts it off? There are two new-ish wind turbines nearby but they are not continuously moving whereas the Hum is constant.

        One of my neighbours lives in a caravan with no electricity and has a terrible time with both hearing the Hum and getting intense vibration in his solar plexus (abdomen). We are surrounded by several dairies and wondered whether refrigeration equipment generators could be the source, but the dairy noise is more intermittent. I have tried recording the dairy noise with a roaming microphone (supplied by Environmental Health) but there was too much interference. Anyway, I hear it where there are no dairies!

        I will email you the trace they recorded in my bedroom. They gave me a button to press to indicate at what time the Hum was intrusive, so the trace seems to have coincided with when I was disturbed by the Hum/vibration.

        The Hum from overhead powerlines is caused by the ‘Corona’ – ionised molecules or plasma – so I do wonder whether military or other sources (eg.HAARP) may have manufactured a plasma round the earth for communications/weapon purposes, thus producing a giant Corona round us all? It’s sheer speculation, of course, and we may never find out, but I’m sure someone must know. (I did email M.I.T. but they didn’t reply).

        Kind regards, Janet

      • Hannah Swann says:

        Hi Janet,

        I’m a fellow Hum sufferer and ‘vev been full circle around all the various hypotheses, starting with RF from mobile tech and through a myriad of other speculations. I travelled most of South West England and South Wales between June and December last year searching for a hum free zone to no avail. Whilst I know now definitively that mobile tech is hazardous to human health, it is not the source of the hum. I am not a scientist nor genius but I have tenacity and incredibly good instincts, which has led me to the truth. Sadly the truth is that these forums are designed to misdirect people away from the actual source. Think about it, we can send craft to the edge of our galaxy but we can’t work out the hum? Bollocks. Please contacr me for a chat on hyswann@yahoo.co.uk. I would really love to meet you as I have not met a fellow sufferer in person and it would be a major relief to talk to someone who understands my living (and no sleep) hell. Hannah

  4. Debby says:

    I first started hearing the Hum in 2015 and have been following this blog for the last 2 years. I wanted to respond to Henrik’s post but comments were closed. Apologies for the long post, but I hope my response can help in some way.

    I have heard the Hum almost constantly, in 2 different towns in New Zealand that I’ve lived in and would describe it as a very low droning pulse, fluctuating around every 1 second, as described similarly by several hearers on the Hum map. I have heard it since a very hectic house move in 2015 which could have been the ‘stress’ that started the sensitivity towards it. In our new place, I can also feel a tingling sensation at the same time as the Hum.

    The only times I don’t hear it have been:
    For 2-3 days after air travel (I don’t take any medication for this), and also on long distance car trips where travel involves going up and down hills of around 100m altitude, and the ears ‘pop’ or block.
    In a few areas about 10km outside the small town I currently live in. In each of these areas there are no industries, cellphone towers, radio towers, transmission lines, wind farms, TV reception etc. Very peaceful!
    I am also about 100km from the nearest wind farm so I don’t think it is that. Also, it wouldn’t be constant if it was from a wind farm.

    During a power cut recently that covered a wide area, the Hum became quieter and more distant. I was struggling to hear it when usually it is very obvious. It may not be from power lines, but something interacting with them (radio, atmospheric) or something powered by them?

    I noticed the Hum was louder during a recent aurora/solar storm about a month ago. I’m keeping an eye on the solar storm site now and will note any change in the level of the Hum.

    I’ve also tried the water test which was mentioned in a comment many posts back – where a glass of water is rested on a table at a quiet time (e.g. no traffic or wind outside) and I could see the ripples very subtly going across the surface of the water in the same ‘pulse’ timing of the Hum.

    Also, it has been mentioned on this blog somewhere that aluminium (tin foil!) can block it. If you try an emergency blanket (these are coated in aluminium) wrapped around your head and held down around your torso, it blocks it. It seems to create static though and I couldn’t use it for long. Some others were posting about using an aluminium bucket as well. I am not sure what it is blocking though, as aluminium can block several things.

    I’ve matched the Hum I hear to around 62-63Hz using a tone generator.

    I was unable to sleep properly for a few months after I started hearing the Hum but am able to now with the aid of a blutac/clingfilm earbud in 1 ear as Janet has mentioned above – strangely I only need 1 ear to be fully blocked off for me to not hear it!

    • Henrik says:

      Debby,

      We agreed with Glen MacPherson to close the comments for my original posting, since the strongest indications now point outside my area of competence and into medical science. However, your posting is just that kind of “more intelligent” description, which I was hoping for in my original posting. Even if I am on thin ice here, let me give some opinions:

      To me your case seems like otoacoustic. Your observation about the power break contradicts that statement, but your observations about air travel and popping ears support it. The 1-second “pulsing” is most likely your heart beats, or pressure variations in the blood vessels, which affect the strength of the hum in whatever organ it is generated. If you would live near a wind farm, that pulsing could also be the blades passing the pylons, but you say you are far away from them.

      The water glass is a simple detector of seismic/mechanical vibration, which means that the hum is external. The earplug effect can be related to the pressure effects from flying. For the part of the tin foils and solar storms I have nothing to say that would be fit for print.

      • Debbie has indeed written an extremely good report.
        I too noticed that there was evidence in what she so carefully related of an otoacoustic source and of an external sound.
        Contradiction?
        Of course not – a person hearing an internal rumble will almost certainly also note a real truck. Not mutually exclusive. I wrote somewhere of being fooled temporarily by a hum that was really a fan or pump or something at the country club across the street from me.

Comments are closed.

