Home » Uncategorized » 2016 in Review

2016 in Review

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

Many families have a holiday tradition which involves writing a (usually) terse and rambling accounting of the various events and travels of the year. Anyone who follows this blog regularly likely won’t need it, and anyone who doesn’t probably won’t extract much substance from it. But here it is.

The Word Hum Map and Database now has more than 13,000 entries, and the form is now available in Chinese.

After many months of stalling and false starts, I finally entered the Deming (VLF radio blocking) Box, and it did not diminish the Hum for me at all. I’m waiting for follow up evidence before abandoning the VLF radio theory in favour of the other hypotheses.

I was finally able to have a piece published about the Hum in my own words, which has been read roughly 640,000 times.  With that article, and coverage from BBC, BBC4, Irish National Radio, Global News, Coast to Coast AM, and many smaller outlets, I estimate that at least 5 million people have had a bit of education about the Worldwide Hum. I hope that readers will help educate others and involve their local media. Bernie Hutchins, an actual scientist who has made serious contributions to this blog, wrote a piece for us which has been read by large numbers of people and it has generated much commentary.

A grand total of just under $200.00 (CDN) was collected in fundraising. This just covers the costs of website and blog hosting.

My expectation all along is that an ambitious graduate student at a major university or private lab will pick up this mystery, solve it in a few months using one of theories we’ve proposed, and then take the credit for all of it. After that happens, I can withdraw to my previous quiet and private life, and focus more on my family, playing music and badminton, hiking, and causes that are important to me.

For those of you who are suffering from the Worldwide Hum, all I can say is that we are closer than ever to solving this. Our task is to educate non-hearers – calmly and rationally – about our situation, and we can wear down the walls of ignorance and incredulity. In the quiet of the forest here, I can hear it loudly every night, and it’s a reminder to me to keep working at it.

Best wishes.

Glen


4 Comments

  1. Simon says:

    Hi Glen, just wanted to say thanks so much once again for all your hard work and perseverance in trying to move this forward for so many years. I think we are all in total agreement with you, in that all we want is just for our lives to get back to normal, and for the hum to be solved finally, or at least understood.

    Like a lot of people who have had their health affected by the hum, I feel my strength and the will to fight on, or do anything constructive towards the cause ebbing away with every year that passes, and I am sure I am not alone in this, which worries me greatly. But perhaps with one more concerted effort we will make 2017 the year we crack it. I certainly hope so.
    Best wishes,
    Simon.

  2. Melissa Padgett says:

    Glen, thank you for the year-end summary. I was happy to read it. Regardless of if/when/who picks up the banner and runs with it, you have played–and continue to play–an unparalleled role in bringing this project into the scientific and public realms. Your map and database, experiments and research, and this forum, have done more than all others put together. You are a true truth champion and I’m deeply grateful. You’ve made my life with the (GD Hum, as I call it), more bearable. Thank you. Best wishes and Happy Holidays to you and yours, and to all the hearers around the globe. May 2017 shed new light on this ongoing mystery. Melissa
    P.S. I contributed to the Deming Box project and would contribute again to other endeavors you post as needing funds. I trust you implicitly. Thanks again.

  3. kurt says:

    Thanx for your hard work, its much appreciated

  4. ma.costa says:

    Dear Dr. MacPherson, God Bless you dir hearing the hum just at night! I hear it all day long AND night. And it is louder!

    Enviado desde mi smartphone Samsung Galaxy.——– Mensaje original ——–De: World Hum Map and Database Project Fecha: 22/12/2016 15:55 (GMT-03:00) Para: ma.costa@vtr.net Asunto: [New post] 2016 in Review

    Dr. Glen MacPherson posted: “Many families have a holiday tradition which involves writing a (usually) terse and rambling accounting of the various events and travels of the year. Anyone who follows this blog regularly likely won’t need it, and anyone who doesn’t probably won’t extra”

Leave a Reply

