Home » Uncategorized » A huge Hum Map update is complete – and I need input on an important decision

A huge Hum Map update is complete – and I need input on an important decision

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

We have more than 13,000 map points now. And now I’m turning my sights on hundreds of Map points for potential deletion from the Map.

I think it’s clear now that we are dealing with more than one source for what has been reported to the World Hum Map. I don’t want to invalidate the experience or suffering of anybody who has reached out to me, but I am focusing on the Worldwide Hum. Shall we review the hallmarks of that phenomenon:

  1. All obvious potential sources of the noise have been eliminated.
  2. The sound is louder at night than during the day.
  3. The sound is louder inside than outside.
  4. It is a low frequency sound – not a mid or high frequency sound, and not the sound of trumpets, metal, scraping, or “booms”.
  5. The Hum is not a “one-off”; that is, it’s not something one hears once for five minutes and then never again.
  6. When one exhales, or turns one’s head, the Hum is momentarily blocked, only to return after a few moments.
  7. It sometimes causes ear pain, the perception of vibrations, and other physical symptoms.
  8. It is very common for only one person in the house to hear it.

With these criteria in mind, hundreds of points – if not more than 1000 – are up for elimination. I want some input from the Hum community before I take such a move. I imagine this will generate considerable discussion, and perhaps some angst. I will moderate the discussion and weigh the opinions.


42 Comments

  1. Jim Johnson says:

    I agree with all the points except #6. When the hum i loud I’ve tried everything I can think of, including exhaling and coughing, to cause it to pause and it simply doesn’t let up, so I would drop point #6 based on my experience.

  2. Melissa Padgett says:

    Glen, I understand the urge to purify the entries based on the criteria. I wonder–is there a third option from 1) keeping them all or 2) deleting those that don’t fit? Maybe purging the data per your description but archiving the purged entries, with a link for anyone who wants to see them? I don’t know how much trouble that would be; just a thought.

  3. eileenbowie says:

    I agree with Jim Johnson…#6 does not apply, in my experience. There is no let up when I exhale or cough. Some nights seem definitely louder, and on very very few occasions I am not conscious of it, but overall, this hum drone is always there, driving me crazy. BTW, thank you, Glen, for your work and dedication to this. Thank you.

  4. Ellen says:

    Yes, Glen,
    My experience is fully reflected in the points you have here, except #6. The Hum is there regardless of where I turn my head, etc.
    Melissa’s point of archiving the other criteria is good, as it may be helpful in the future.
    But I agree that for the Hum investigation, the information should be focused on the points you have here.
    Cheers, Ellen

  5. kurt says:

    I agree on all points. Furthermore, if you clap or make a loud short noise in the room, the hum will stop for a a second or kind of make a jump and then continue. And another thing it seems to be increasing around spring and fall

  6. ChrisB says:

    Dr Glen, all points are relavant to my experience, Except for #6. Although, breathing in may mask the hum a little bit, it returns immediatly after exhaling. I’ve used industrial earplugs in order to fall asleep. The morning traffic somewhat weakens the hum, but not in the basement.

    • Everyone should know that the raw, live, and unedited database (full of spam, verbal abuse, repeat entries, sky trumpets, aliens, TI claims, and other fun stuff) is always available here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1yKop08_qF7f0c8qFJUZnLGpl1pATnmawJk_k0U7rsbA/edit?usp=sharing

      In fact, people who are interested in pursuing their own lines of inquiry can use it as a resource. With a little bit of database expertise, it is possible to apply one’s own criteria to the entries.

      • ChrisB says:

        Dr. Glen. Please explain why, that in response to my entry, you have reiterated a part of your original post relating to spam. Am I to conclude that my input has been categorized as such?
        I can assure you that I havn’t categorized my input as “otherworldly” nor do I believe it is.

      • I’m not sure what you are referring to. I’ll check my spam folder.

      • From my records, you replied with the following comment, which I approved: “Dr Glen, all points are relavant to my experience, Except for #6. Although, breathing in may mask the hum a little bit, it returns immediatly after exhaling. I’ve used industrial earplugs in order to fall asleep. The morning traffic somewhat weakens the hum, but not in the basement.”

        Perhaps you could tell me if there is something else I missed.

      • ChrisB says:

        Your response to my observation was:
        Quote:
        “Dr. Glen MacPherson
        OCTOBER 3, 2016 AT 5:31 AM
        Everyone should know that the raw, live, and unedited database (full of spam, verbal abuse, repeat entries, sky trumpets, aliens, TI claims, and other fun stuff) is always available here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1yKop08_qF7f0c8qFJUZnLGpl1pATnmawJk_k0U7rsbA/edit?usp=sharing

        In fact, people who are interested in pursuing their own lines of inquiry can use it as a resource. With a little bit of database expertise, it is possible to apply one’s own criteria to the entries.”

      • You missed my point entirely – in fact I was supporting you and everyone else who wants to pursue their own theories. The reason I mention the spam, abuse, aliens, and so on, is that it can be agonizing to filter through it all. The World Hum Map and Database is what the public sees after I filter out all the noise. I make the raw database available because somebody out there might be interested in some other aspect of unexplained noises, or may be pursuing some theory that I have either rejected or haven’t explored yet.

      • ChrisB says:

        Thank you for the clarification Dr.
        I understand.

      • Gerry says:

        Hello Glen, 

        Just a quick note to perhaps assist you in your research. 

        Ireland was hit with a particularly boisterous storm on the night of Saturday 15th Oct into Sunday morning the 16th,   with the usual high winds and associated heavy rains. 

        Note: these are quite frequent here as we regularly get “pummelled” by south to south westerly fronts generated in the Atlantic ocean.

        Again, as I’ve stated before on earlier threads in relation to high wind and high precipitation storm fronts experienced in my location,  the hum as I anticipated fell “totally silent”.

        However,  this time I noticed that during bouts within the storm when the rain intensity “faded” and or when the wind ‘subsided’ for brief moments, I could clearly hear the hum repenetrating into my auditory perceptual awareness before falling silent again to coincide with the storms wind and rain intensity increasing once more.

        (ie. The storm was most definitely influencing my perception of the hum from high, decreasing to low to zero, then increasing back to high and so on.)

        This was only the first time I took note of this instance within the silencing phenomenon, but not necessarily the first time it happened, as again, this is also part of my own personal ongoing deductions to be postulated while one considers just “why” these “totally silent” interruptions are occuring.

        And worth noting, It was also the first time that I paid this ‘elevated a level of attention’ to the influence the storm was having on ‘my perception’ of the hum.

        Note: I have already made my own deductions why this might come about ‘in science’ and have posted this to a previous thread.

        I hope this helps further with your own research. 

        Gerry.

  7. citriquecitron@gmail.com says:

    Totally agree to filter the reports to be focused on the “proved” hum only. Your criterias are obvious but the n° 2 make no sense for me, I’m in a very quite place and the hum is steady day or night, I figure that many people hear the hum louder at night because it is a calm moment for them compared to an active day life in noisy environnement…

    Also, criteria n°6 sounds strange to me, it don’t work for me, and anyway it can really be dfficult to interpret I guess, if you ask the question some could answer yes or no for the a same situation, I mean that’s how I see it, IMHO…

    Cheers

  8. kurt says:

    Hum in the night have absolutely nothing to do with daily noise mask the hum, we have no noise 24/7.

  9. kurt says:

    I would maybe say that number 2 and 6 can be discussed. The other numbers I fully back up

  10. Andy Foley says:

    As we’ve debated before, we have to be mindful of not falling into the trap that the map is simply a population density map. A map of left-handed people might look similar – there will be more reports from New York than Arizona simply because there are more people. Perhaps the most important data to extract is frequency of occurrences (time and date). It may be more meaningful that someone in New York is hearing the hum at exactly the same time as someone in Arizona. (Just for the record, turning my head makes no difference to the hum. And it has no ‘directional’ source.) Andy, Birmingham, England

  11. Andy Foley says:

    Glen, could you explain what the ‘timestamp’ filed represents? Is it the time the hearer heard the sound, the time they reported it, or the time it was entered into the database?

  12. Rupert says:

    I have to agree with previous posts that No 6 comment does not work with me. I have also now discovered that I no longer hear it when I go to bed,but it appears to start again about 0300-0400 and then go on for the rest of the day. The ambient noises in the house generally block it for the rest of the day once I get up.
    I would agree that there is definitely more than one source of the sound,but what?
    I feel it is best to keep all the data.

    • This is very interesting regarding #6. This may in fact be a test that separates us into two groups, possibly indicating different sources. I noticed this effect from the very beginning, and I know that Bernie has written on this one. I’m looking forward to hearing more from hearers on this point.

  13. Criterion No. 6 seems to be valid, and essentially diagnostic of “the Hum”. But it is subtle, and I suspect many here who dismiss it are not doing the test carefully enough. This is not to accuse anyone of being lazy. It’s not easy.

    It is a BRIEF interruption. It lasts about 1/2 second. For a human, this is close to but just noticeably different from instantaneous. Count “one thousand one” and it’s half that time. You don’t so much notice that the sound goes away (has GONE away) as you do that it RETURNS, dependably. (Kurt described is well above.) [ I have compared it to swatting at a fly on a cluttered workbench – by the time you even look for the critter’s remains he is back flying in your face.]

    The interruptions need to be sharp sounds, brief “grunts” or vigorous head shakes (not just turning your head slowly) and you will probably need a dozen repetitions to convince yourself that the RETURNS are reliable, and UNDER YOUR CONTROL. If you don’t make the proper effort, you will likely miss it. It is subtle, but becomes clear with the right effort (I believe). It would be MOST interesting to hear from folks who mastered the observation after initially rejecting the idea.

    • I agree. I think everybody should take a fresh look at this tonight, with the advice given above.

    • Bernie. Feel free to write up a brief piece on this, and I’ll put it up on the main page as a separate post.

    • Gerry says:

      Just to say, that I’ve tried Bernie’s test(many times!) and was ‘without doubt’ momentarily able to silence the hum in exactly the way Bernie has described on many occasions.

      This in my opinion, further serves to validate the tones existence as something audible within our perceptual awareness.

      (ie. Not imagined, it is a real tone!)

      I would hypothesise that the grunting and head shaking somehow momentarily disrupts ionic transfer within the basilar membrane, which I highly suspect is the “perceptual point of entry” for the ‘frequency’ that causes this tone, before it is decoded/transcribed and in turn perceived as a resonating hum by the mechanism of auditory perceptual awareness within the brain.

      Note: I suspect the energy is bombarding every part of our anatomy(to include the bone of our craniums!),  but it’s the basilar membrane which is converting the frequency into tonal perception. 

      I also now suspect that this frequency is ultrasonic energy(ultrasound!)in nature and it is being carried to the basilar membrane by a radio frequency buried in a further carrier in the form of microwave energy.

      Note: this is my suspicion only and is not proven, though I have researched it thoroughly and almost everything I have looked at thus far, ‘strongly’ validates this hypothesis. 

      Some Notes on Bernies Test:

      The grunting is the safest way to do this test!!

      (But will leave you with an irritated throat for a while!!!)

      • Gerry says:

        Addendum: it has occurred to me that resting in the middle ear lie three of the smallest bones in human anatomy a.k.a ‘The Ossicles(Hammer, Anvil & Stirrup or Malleus, Incus & Stapes!)

        Ultrasound conducts(resonates!) in bone. 

        Could this be where the tone is being played(ie.the hum!), but ‘only’ after it has ‘bypassed’ the ear drum, hence making it ‘undetectable’ by regular sound recording apparatus? 

        (Or could it simply be that standard recording equipment doesn’t detect ultrasound, period???)

        Next up, action potential in the basilar membrane and onward conversion towards auditory perception! 

        Seems logical to me!

        & for those of you who think this is simply impossible?

        You might want to think again! 

        Here’s but one of a multitude of variances of how ultrasound can be manipulated using current technology:

        Note: Could this be applied or linked in some way to the hum???

        http://www.holosonics.com/PR_TR100.html

        https://holosonics.com/content/27applications

        https://holosonics.com/

        https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sound_from_ultrasound

        etc etc etc.

        🙂

      • Mina Kashani says:

        I don’t understand though because I try using my phone to record the sound. I try to get I when I hear it loudest and I’ve got some video recordings on my phone where I can hear it still and played them to my friends and they hear it too. This isn’t something else, it’s exactly the same sound described all over this website and it lasts for hours, for days. I can only recall the times I don’t hear it and it’s hardly ever these days. Unfortunately the phone recordings don’t capture the sound as loud as I can hear it in person due to the quality or the static noise (and birds chirping in the mornings) but if you listen close enough the noise can be heard.

  14. Lisle Blyth says:

    Hi, A purge for accuracy seems like a sensible move. I support the idea of archiving the outliers rather than deleting them, and #2 and #6 are not relevant to me. Regarding #6, head movement or coughing does not affect it, but if I rub my ears or put a finger in each ear canal and shake vigorously the Hum drops in intensity for a few seconds. Another relevant characteristic for profiling the Hum is its apparent long-cycle pulse or oscillation (it irregularly drops off for a milisecond and then resumes). In a globalised world it’s likely the technology behind the Hum is used almost everywhere, as the Hum map reflects. One technology that has been replicated around the world makes sense.

  15. Charlie says:

    Just for the record, points 2, 3 and perhaps 6 dont really fit my experience of the Hum.

    Day or night, inside or out – it doesnt seem to make a difference here (a quiet, remote location), As I think someone mentioned before, low level ambient sound (eg. distant traffic in a town) could give the impression that the hum is louder at night or indoors. This effect might skew the results on points 2 and 3.

    Tonight I have tried sharply turning my head to one side and rapidly exhaling. A couple of times I thought I noticed a very slight change to the Hum, but most of the time time nothing seemed to happen The effect was too subtle and inconsistent for me to be able to confidently tick box 6.

    For me at least, one of the chief peculiarities of the Hum is that conventional soundproofing seems to have no effect on it. Ear muffs, pillows, being inside a car etc. all seem completely ineffective. The Hum seems to go straight through everything. No other ‘sound’ I have experienced before behaves like this. However I’m not sure if this could be used as a defining characteristic because it doesn’t rule out internal sounds from other sources than the Hum eg medical conditions.

    Perhaps the data could organised so that the user could apply their own filters. So then someone could choose to either apply/not apply certain criteria to a search of the Map points themselves. That way some of the dodgier looking points could be retained on the off chance that they might be useful later.

  16. Melissa Padgett says:

    #2: I wonder about rewording #2 to something like “The sound seems less loud during the day, when more ambient noise appears to mask it.”

    #6: I wonder about rewording #6 to be a little more specific to reflect that SHARPLY shaking my head means for those brief seconds I don’t hear the Hum. Also exhaling/inhaling/making a LOUD noise means that during that split second I don’t hear it. Likewise, if I stand near my refrigerator when it’s making a loud noise, I don’t hear it. So something like, “Sharp, brief sounds, abrupt head shakes, and loud nearby noises can appear to mask the hum.”

    • Essentially I agree. There is more, however, in my later comment on the new thread.

      True, you don’t hear the Hum when you are making noise. And the Hum is (largely) paused while you shake your head. The interesting finding is that when you STOP either, the Hum is off for about 1/2 second and then ramps back up in about 1/2 second more, reliably. I also agree that your refrigerator example may well be a continuous resetting of the pause mechanism.

      You did not say if you are a Hearer. If so, I would love to know if you have verified this pause or if you can make it work.

  17. Charlene Bontrager says:

    I am over 50, a naturalist living in TN. Each of your points fit me precisely. I am quite sensitive to reading my own body and in the context of trying to make sense of what has been happening to me since 2010, “experimenting” with moving my head naturally happened, and I found it to be true as explained…just enough relief to be maddening.

  18. anomaly says:

    Glen, I’ve very curious to hear more about your thoughts on criteria #1 in your list as far as what qualifiers (“potential sources”) go towards such elimination:

    “All obvious potential sources of the noise have been eliminated.”

    Would this include any reports from those also reporting (high frequency) tinnitus?

    Does at least one qualifier (duration of experience[s]) relate to your #5 item:

    “The Hum is not a “one-off”; that is, it’s not something one hears once for five minutes and then never again.”

    … If so what would you suggest as a breaking point? Occurrence period greater than one day, one month, etc.?

    – SMiles

  19. Jamie says:

    I would drop #6 out of that list. All the other points are relative to my experience.

  20. seepurple says:

    drop number 6 completely. I can hear it though it’s not close right now. I turned my head and exhaled…still there not stopping.

    got a new weird thing though. noticed if you think about it sometimes it’s like you call it to you. weird! however you can’t get rid of it..lol. if you try to concentrate on it it gets louder oh and if it’s loud it messes up my television. I recorded this if you need it. or can post it on utube if you need me.

    tv is non cable. just regular tv. trying to save money so no Internet, WiFi, or cable. hope that helps.

    • Charlene Bontrager says:

      Rehash: It USED TO BE that I could turn my head and it would stop, but I tested that for several times now, and it’s no longer that way. Makes me sound like I’m crazy, but it’s true.

    • To seepurple –

      (1) We probably shouldn’t reject criterion (6) on the report of one person such as yourself! Probably a fraction of hearers approaching half are able to interrupt the Hum in this way. It is not a matter of simply turning one’s head and/or exhaling. We do both all the time! One must “shake” one’s head with some vigor, in the manner we tried to refuse a spoonful of medicine as a child, for a second or two, then stop suddenly. As I have said, you don’t so much hear that the hum is gone as you do that it ramps back up in about a half second. It’s subtle and may require a concerted effort. Frosch (J. Sci. Exploration, 2013) said “37% of hearers [on a questionnaire] reported that they can stop their hum during purposeful head movements.”

      (2) As for the TV! You didn’t say in what way it “messes up” your TV. Does it make the picture wave/wobble? It could be a “beating” (probably “strobing” in video) if there is a true vibration. Did you get it on video? IF so, how was the camera supported?

      • seepurple says:

        well Bernie perhaps you should not reject number 6 on criteria such as myself. though I would be interested why I would be selected as the one to ignore.

        I was only giving my own opinion as the whole article was asking for input. I did not realize there would be others who would judge and evaluate. please note I am not the only one to give input and I highly understand everything is an opinion until scientifically verified.

        I will be sure to put anyour further input or videos I have out of public view unless shared by others

        thank you

      • >well Bernie perhaps you should not reject number 6 on criteria >such as myself. though I would be interested why I would be >selected as the one to ignore.

        You said: “drop number 6 completely. I can hear it though it’s not close right now. I turned my head and exhaled…still there not stopping.”

        No one else was even close to that emphatic. It was not clear exactly if you had tried the interruption in the correct manner.

        >I will be sure to put anyour further input or videos I have out of >public view unless shared by others

        I can not decipher that. I was asking for details about the hum “messing up” your TV. You left that out. How about posting it so that we can see if there is anything there.

        I apologize if you took it the wrong way. No offense intended.

        Bernie

  21. Rebecca Riel says:

    Rather than deleting the extra data, would it be possible instead to set up toggling on/off filters of the variables?

    For all we know, that other data could become extremely useful for other researchers and theories. I would hate to see it lost…

    I would find it fascinating to be able to see variations of maps that selected for time of day, or adjusted for population density, or overlaid with local fault lines or rock/mineral types, or freeways or mining regions, etc. etc..

    • A crucial idea, which I am working on whenever I get the chance. As soon as I can convince Derek Edder (the author of a Fusion Table search interface) to put 10 minutes into this, we can have this feature up and running.

  22. Arc flash sparky says:

    1…To qualify the hum an good example was when I worked welding in Alcoa aluminum plant around the smelting pots. The sound was from the low hertz or the ex power , the smelters for the boxite used the rebar in the concrete slab as ground which in turn grounded the complete smelter. The carbon electrodes using low dc current at high amps were placed in the boxite to form liquid aluminum ( simplified ex.)
    The whole time I worked around these units I heard the same sound but greatly amplified.
    2… While working at a steam power plant which used steam to turn generators. Within this plant which created power for over500,000 people the sound was also similar.
    3…. While working at a government site that used large amounts of energy meaning more than only the government would actually know because of the type of site it still is/ this site in several buildings I was in which were let’s say war proof I heard this same hum.
    4… At my house I’ve heard this sound for decades. I built this house and know every thing about it from the bed rock its on along with the amount of footers on types of rock, the north to south direct long wise mannor the house is oriented. The rebar in relation to banding surrounding footers and walls and all vertical rebar. I also know the exact position a 60 foot 18w beam is placed laying exactly N to south. And lastly I know the underground electric service I installed which is almost 5600 ft running directly N in line directly to my house . And not to forget how and where all wiring is within the house.

    I am no scientist but I am aware of magnetic fields on earth and how voltage is shunt, stored and released.
    For years I’ve layed in bed wondering what the noise was. I lived in a camper on this property and never heard a sound. In fact I was so quite it would almost hurt your ears when finally relaxing after a long day exactly like camping in the middle of no where.
    For years I thought it was a tunnel boreing machine likenive heard on sites before years prior. But I could never find any information from the people I know who would likely know.
    Years of laying in bed hearing the hum from being a loud humming slightly pulsating sound like tbm to just a hum like a sound systems slight low hum when amplified.
    From time to timeni would consider the house was producing the sound from the bed rock to the construction which acted as its own amplifyer but I keep coming back to it being related to solar major and minor. Because the older I get it seem to correspond to the solar activity.
    I will say the two other homes I’ve lived in and have also been able to sleep in again prove no hum. Zero ; these homes are 20 miles west from this house.
    I hope some of this might help you since I have been able to rule out 2 things . Two extremely large energy users 20 and 22 miles south of me no longer use the vast energy they once did and the airport 14 miles from me have their routes arranged that the sound is clearly obvious when operational.

Leave a Reply

