Home » Uncategorized » I have a task for an internet science news hound

I have a task for an internet science news hound

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

I can’t prove it yet, and intuition means nothing until it is investigated, but I am getting a sense that there is intentional timing behind the flood of news stories surrounding unexplained noises, (including mystery “music” heard by astronauts!) and stories about how the “hum” has been explained. I must have stumbled over 20 stories over the past three weeks.

The world Hum hasn’t been explained. It isn’t mating fish, which sadly still appears on Wikipedia, nor is it ocean wave reflections, also found on Wikipedia, and which doesn’t quite explain how waves have been happening for several billion years, and yet the world Hum appeared in a big way in the late 1960s/1970 in England. So after reading several thousand articles (mainly news) about the Hum over the past four years, I’ve come to the conclusion that the reporting can in general be rejected out of hand, with little concern about learning anything about the source of what we experience.

Here’s the job: using a good news database (or Google News search features), count the number of stories on explained noises or explanations for the Hum, and plot the number of stories versus month for the past four years. I have a prediction regarding what you’ll find. I don’t think this is a conspiracy, but I do want to check a theory of mine. I haven’t got the time for this one, so one of you please do it. Contact me directly at glen.macpherson@gmail.com.

 


1 Comment

  1. Tracie says:

    Thank you for trying to solve this.

Leave a Reply

