Home » Uncategorized » Why isn’t my Hum report on the Map? The answer is:

Why isn’t my Hum report on the Map? The answer is:

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

Every single report must be checked by me personally. Moreover, the upload process is tedious, complicated, and time consuming – so much so that I usually do updates once every two months, sometimes more frequently, and in some cases less frequently. I work on the Map on a volunteer basis whenever I can.

If you see any problems or inconsistencies with the Map, please let me know so that I can deal with them.


5 Comments

  1. Eva Fishman says:

    Gosh, I’ve reported the hum and filled out a lengthy report form several years ago and again a couple of years ago, and I’m still not in the data base or on the map! Perhaps i got lumped in with “Minneapolis” despite I’m in Plymouth, MN? Minnetonka and Maple Grove are also suburbs of the Twin Cities and they show as distinct/separate from Minneapolis. What am I doing wrong?

    • There are quite a few things that can go wrong. Do you recall if you added your address by zip code or by physical address? Please post back with either and I can search the raw database – where nothing ever gets deleted – to see what happened. If you are comfortable doing so, download the spreadsheet (I gave the link in a recent post) and search within Excel for it. Glen

      • Eva Fishman says:

        I don’t remember if it was zip or address. I spent close to an hour completing whatever it was I completed (the first time), and was in the throes of desperation at the time, so could have messed up. Over the the years I have come to detente with the hum, which is not to say I accept it. When it is loud, intrusive, and making me sick, I’m glad I’m widowed and only the dog can hear the language I use. I have been known to scream into a pillow so my neighbors don’t call the police….

        I appreciate your willingness to investigate – my zip is 55446-2636. I hesitate to put my address in the forum (not that I’m paranoid, just cautious), but if you don’t find my input, I can provide it. Please give me the spreadsheet link again –
        Eva

  2. TINMA says:

    Dr. Glen ,
    Thank you for your efforts. I hope to see my dot on the map, I would be the only one in my area, which is weird given my theorey on the hum. I have brought this hum to others attention in this area, they never notice it until I said something.

Leave a Reply

