Home » Uncategorized » The 2015 Summer Solstice Solar Storm that Just Hit Us

The 2015 Summer Solstice Solar Storm that Just Hit Us

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

I regret not acting quickly enough when I received initial forecasts of the significant solar event we just experienced. I receive alerts on any significant geological or space event, and this time I simply wasn’t organized to conduct another real-time sampling of Hum Hearers. Next time.

My theory is that the state of the ionosphere – with a few other things – mediates the worldwide Hum. Therefore a solar storm is expected to create unpredictable worldwide changes in the Hum.

The trick with the Hum, as always, is getting sufficient numbers of us together during a brief time period.

An update on the VLF-Blocking Deming Box will happen in a few hours.


4 Comments

  1. Melissa Padgett says:

    Glen, I hope you never feel you have to apologize for anything. You are forging into new territory and knowledge–the rest of us gain from your efforts and they are wonderful! BTW: I subscribe to a YouTube channel called Suspicious Observers (I know kind of an odd name), but Ben (the host) is savvy in all things solar, and is definitely someone to check in with in terms of flares, etc. Thanks again for everything you’re doing!

  2. Kristy says:

    I just filled in my observation of the hum on the database – I’ve been able to block out the hum successfully in the past, but last night was insanely loud. It felt like the walls of the room were vibrating all night. So I watched the solar news (suspicious observers) and that makes sense to me – I can’t imagine that our planet doesn’t ‘hum’ during such an impact or absorption of charged plasma / energy. It really seems like energy is hitting a surface and creating some sort of ripple either in the ionosphere or back out into space…. I do wonder how it becomes so engine like in the rotation sounds – pulses very regularly.

  3. annalities says:

    In the Southern Hemisphere the Hum was deafening from about two weeks before solstice, funny enough when news of the flares broke it went quiet, and i slept like a baby for the first time in what feels like forever. I wondered what my nervous system was doing in this time, frankly it just felt fried.

  4. Patricia Paufler says:

    It seems to me that the HUM is made by men. Its the kind of rhythm in the vibrations that tells me that.
    During the last 3 days the HUM was here in northern Germany very strong. Before there have been some days when we couldnt believe that we were able to sleep and recover!

Leave a Reply

