Home » Uncategorized » Calling all Vancouver-area Hum Hearers: the VLF-Blocking Box is nearing completion

Calling all Vancouver-area Hum Hearers: the VLF-Blocking Box is nearing completion

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

The VLF radio-blocking Deming Box is nearing completion – the final welds on the basic box should be finished within 48 hours. Then comes the tricky work: cutting a hole for the access hatch and welding it in. I’ll call in Jim Pike to do that work personally. The unit will be ready to go on the road within 20 days, funding for the trailer permitting.

Technical note: there also needs to be a proof of concept; that is, I need to demonstrate that the box actually does what it claims to do, which is blocking radio signals down to a frequency of 3 kHz, and preferably lower. I have the technology on hand to do that, but I’ll be checking with a few folks on the Yahoo VLF Forum regarding that before the experiment begins.

So during the summer, most likely mid-late July, I’ll be ready for the first volunteers to go into the box so that we can provide initial and informal results to the Hum world. If you live no further east than Hope, BC and no further north than Whistler, and you would be willing to participate, then please contact me. Alternatively, if you are travelling to the Vancouver area during that time period, that will work as well.


4 Comments

  1. Kurt says:

    Fantastic project, thumbs up from Denmark

  2. Jean says:

    I am a “Hum Hearer” as is my neighbour; we live in Surrey, BC, Canada. It’s driving us mad–poor sleep, irritability, etc., like all the others who have registered on the thehum.info. One woman said she got relief at night by tying aluminum foil on her head with a head scarf (!); if that’s the case, maybe we Hum Hearers should sleep with our head in a pot! I wonder if old houses with aluminum siding still on them are exempt from this annoying problem. The map showing self-reporting of the hum in the world is astonishing! Good luck with your project 🙂

  3. Melissa Padgett says:

    I wish I lived up there (I’m in California) I’d volunteer like a shot!

  4. Peter says:

    Hi Glen,

    Firstly, I want to say ‘thank you’ for your diligence and service in pursuing a scientific answer to the Hum phenomena. I came across your map project when it first launched. The crowd-sourced response has helped to legitimize the experience for myself and fellow ‘hearers.’ I was very pleased to revisit your site yesterday and read about the progress you have made with the Demming Box experiment in the past few months.

    I live in New Westminster and have been hearing the Hum since 2007. I’m on holiday up the Sunshine Coast near Lund at the moment where the Hum has been especially pronounced for the past couple of days. I will be back home in Greater Vancouver after August 10th and will gladly participate as a subject and/or, if needed, as a research assistant in the Demming Box experiment.

    I read your description of the expirement quoted below. I am curious about further details of the research methodology, namely how you intend to manage the double-blind component (i.e which third party will manage the research data, how you will randomize the assignment of subjects to boxes, will you mix hearer and non-hearer subjects, etc.). I only have Internet access via my phone at the moment (making it slightly more awkward to search and browse) so please excuse me if you have answered this elsewhere on your blog. I would appreciate a post link if you have.

    Cheers,

    –peter

    “there is a simple and elegant experiment that will sort out whether there are multiple hums, and whether some of them have acoustic or internal sources. I call it the “Deming Box” experiment, named after the geoscientist David Deming, who was one of the first serious scientists to come forward with a sober and well-researched paper on the worldwide Hum. It comprises three boxes which appear identical on the outside and to anybody inside them. One of the boxes will greatly reduce acoustic signals (i.e. soundproofed), while the second one blocks VLF (EM radiation between 3 kHz and 30 kHz). The third box is a control and blocks neither.”

Leave a Reply

