Home » Uncategorized » It’ s time for another audit of the Hum Map (I just found a few odd things)

It’ s time for another audit of the Hum Map (I just found a few odd things)

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

Some entries escaped my initial scrutiny. When I downloaded the database, and then sorted the age column, I found one entry for somebody who was 3000 years old, and several for people under the age of 8 (I strongly suspect that the latter cases were typos, but the data was useless nevertheless). I also found entries where the description of the sound was not useful for our purposes here. I also found a few entries whose location referred to entire states or major areas. In all, I just deleted about 50 entries from the database and map.

If each reader would go to the Hum Map, zoom in some points, and click on them to reveal the details, looking for problems, and then reporting them to me, that would further increase the validity of this project.

As always, your help and participation are appreciated and make this possible.

Glen


5 Comments

  1. Alan Stevens says:

    3,000 years old? That may have been a spirit.

  2. George G. says:

    Ha ha, yes, a good cognac, I hope.

  3. Rusty M says:

    Somebody always has to one up the rest of us. Hopefully we can get most all f the reports updated

  4. Charlie says:

    My family went on a cross-country trip in ’98. at the time I was 7, and we stopped in Taos on our way through NM. I noticed the hum when we visited the pueblo, as the profound pre-industrial quiet removed most of the obvious things to attribute it to. Years later I heard about the hum and the unexplained nature of it’s origin; long story short, those 8-year-old data points may very well not be typos, and removing them may skew the data via confirmation bias. Not to say that all the data points from kids are valid, but just a caveat.

Leave a Reply

