Home » Uncategorized » Quick thanks to Dorian Stringer

Quick thanks to Dorian Stringer

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

Dorian took action on point #4 in my list of things that could help us move toward the solution. Here is the list: http://wp.me/p309cN-ja The task involved contacting the authors of what appears to be the first serious and quantitative model for the interactions of VLF (3 kHz – 30 kHz) radio energy with living tissue. I’ll take the ball from here and ask the author a few questions that will either invalidate my theory or provide impetus to it. Good work. Glen


1 Comment

  1. Dan Fruzzetti says:

    Are you sure looking at VLF is the right avenue? My first thought is of how well these sounds would propagate through solids and that the great range suggests subterranean origin.

    Info about me: my ears are very sensitive. I’m the guy who can always tell when a CRT monitor is on somewhere nearby. I’ve noticed most people can’t hear them just being on. When i go to bed, if it’s quiet enough i get this sensation that my ears have their gain turned up all the way because they’re always trying to lock onto sounds somewhere – for a while i had trouble in excess quiet, because my ears would turn themselves up all the way and i’d be experiencing the biological equivalent of microphone ‘clipping.’ This sound happens at ~3KHz so should not match “the hum.”

    But even with the recordings people describe the hum in different ways. I can flex some muscles in my head voluntarily, and create a poworful buzzing that’s low enough in pitch i can sense individual wave peaks. It sounds like any other muscle might if it were trying as hard as it could, but shaking.

    But again, i can will that sound. If i were stuck with it i might be driven mad, but i bet a skeletal muscle relaxer may enable it to ‘let go.’

    There used to be a variable pitch rumble in the background here, at night only when all else was quiet, which could be heard inside and out but which didn’t ever get loud enough to bother me – at least never bad enough that a white noise, fan, or mp3 couldn’t mask it.

    I’d love to know what’s really happening but again i’m thinking geological in origin.

Leave a Reply

