Home » Uncategorized » Here it is again: six (concrete) things you can do to move the research forward

Here it is again: six (concrete) things you can do to move the research forward

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
2. Help me find an acoustics expert who can explain how to create a portable box, big enough for a person to get inside, that will block most sound, including low frequency sounds.
4. Help me find an experimental radio physicist who can give advice on welding VLF-proof containers. (with a radio frequency as low as f = 3 kHz).
5. Help me take a fully laid-out web page in another language and install it as a subdomain on my site and then do the SEO for it.
6. Find an industrial acoustic expert who can answer this question: please describe the range, intensity, and behaviour of sound and infrasound created by different industrial processes over and through various surface geographies including mountains and valleys, earth of differing conductivities and composition, and fresh and salt water.
Thanks
Glen

5 Comments

  1. jimvandamme says:

    I’m a just-retired high-power radar R&D engineer; 37 years at the Air Force Research Lab and 9 years at a small consulting company. I’ve worked on VLF antenna tuners, ground penetrating radar, and a few other relevant things so I find your site to be interesting. After I peruse some more of it, I might find time to be helpful, since I have some test equipment in that range.

    • George G. says:

      Hiya Jim,

      Can you spare time to set up basic equipment to determine if we are dealing with RF?

      You stated you want to help out in an earlier post. I reckon Glenn needs all the bloody help he can get at the moment..

      cheers,

      G.

    • George G. says:

      Sorry for the unfinished message; To continue…

      D you have access to a spectrum analyzer? If the Hum is EMR in nature, it should be possible to detect with a analyzer. Researchers in the USA claim to have detected a 31Hz signal which precedes local earthquakes (Rauscher & Van Bice)

      Their equipment consisted of a large coil antenna, pre-amps and 60Hz active filter.

      All attempts by me to detect such a signal have failed. My problem is the crude passive 50Hz filters I use. The roll-off is not sharp enough. I am looking for +/- 20Hz around the mains hum.

      It has been shown that a PC with a simple LW antenna connected to the sound card makes a very effective analyzer. With appropriate software the filtering is taken care of. A single stage pre-amp is all the electronics required outside of the PC. Have you any thoughts/experience there???
      My computer knowledge is very limited.

      If it can be shown the Hum is EMR in nature, Glenn’s steel box experiment should succeed.

      If the phenomenon is not found in the EMR spectrum, then a lot of time and resources may be saved, perhaps for physiological avenues etc…

      • jimvandamme says:

        I have a microwave spectrum analyzer; it goes up to 1.2 GHz as I recall, but its low end is limited to the high kilohertz range. I have a cheap digital HF receiver that I can hear VLF signals from Cutler (I’m in central NY) which is about 400 miles away.

        Getting a good signal to noise ratio is going to be tough around civilization. This is the problem for folks who listen to lightning induced whistlers (http://vlf.stanford.edu/research/introduction-whistler-waves-magnetosphere). They wind big loop antennas and go off to the boonies and record them with battery powered recorders. I’d guess nowadays they use Arduino powered recorders to a memory chip.

        A computer sound card will have a limited low end range. It might be better to record with a decent A/D with a sharp active filter (switched capacitor can be very sharp) on the front, then the file can be analyzed with one of many freeware apps. Even Audacity will do it, I think. For greater sensitivity, you can use Matlab or equvalent (Octave, Scilab) to do further filtering and integration, and tabulate the results.

        Correlating all this EM noise with the Hum is going to be the key. I haven’t read all Glenn’s backup material yet, so I haven’t seen the arguments for/against all the possible causes. If I set up an antenna here, is there a nearby hearer who I can talk to?

  2. Lee says:

    I would love to explore the metaphysical aspects of The Hum. Perhaps the Hearers have more in common than what is revealed by the survey, which seems to focus more on the physical characteristics. Any fellow South Africans, please feel free to connect and share.

    Fantastic all round! Thanks for the good work in helping us to understand that we are not crazy!

Leave a Reply

