Home » Uncategorized » The potential quiet zone in the Great Plains and the Canadian Prairies

The potential quiet zone in the Great Plains and the Canadian Prairies

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

Image

 

(The population density question is discussed here.)

There seems to be a large quiet zone as shown in the picture above. Why? I can think of several reasons. First, these are areas of low (in some cases very low) population density. Second, the Hum may not be affecting this region as strongly, or at all.

I’ll wait to hear from those who travel (and stay for a while) in this region.

Glen


3 Comments

  1. xabiers says:

    Did you delete your recent post “I’ve stumbled over something remarkable …and I forgot that I knew it
    when I was 12”?
    Xabier
    Orlando, FL

    • Yes I did, because of the news story from the time in question: http://www.whitehorsestar.com/archive/history/hey-im-alive-part-1/ and my feeling is that I need to reconcile what I remember reading in the book with the newspaper report of the episode. Anyone who has spent time in the mountains – as I have – knows full well that the sound from a chainsaw can travel miles. But the point is, you know it’s a chainsaw, regardless of the distance from the source, and a bush pilot would of course know. My memory is that the book gives a much different impression; I need to get a copy of it and read the woman’s own words, rather than a newspaper reporter’s summary of them. If she reported what I recall reading, then I’ll move this item back up to a higher priority for research. Until then, I’ll move it to the back burner.

  2. Gwen says:

    I live in this “quite zone” and I can tell you it is FAR FROM QUIET. We are on the “North American Central Plains Conductivity Anomaly” or TOBE Anomaly, that runs up through this quiet zone. The dirty electricity in the ground is quite high as well, and can be directly influenced by solar flares and such. This HUM has increased tremedously since the introduction of communication towers, satellite tv, wi-fi etc. I would assume the low population density is the reason for this apparent “quiet zone”.
    Let me know if I can be of assistance regarding research of this area of your map.
    Sincerely,
    Gwen in Willow Bunch,
    Home of the Giant

Leave a Reply

