Home » Uncategorized » VLF Receivers Ordered (Finally) – Phase One of Deming Box Experiment Imminent

VLF Receivers Ordered (Finally) – Phase One of Deming Box Experiment Imminent

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

I like to tell people that I always keep my promises, but not always on time. To wit, after an epic search, I’ve located a cheap and effective source of VLF receivers (out of Italy, which seems to be a hotbed of VLF research as it relates to earthquake prediction, among other applications).

Phase One (proof of concept) of the Deming Box Experiment is imminent. Using my VLF receiver, I will first measure the VLF energy and frequencies in my Hum location and ensure that I can in fact sense the Hum. Then I will enter a steel storage container and, surrounded by steel sheeting, will repeat those measures. If I can show that my setup effectively and demonstrably blocks VLF signals, and if the Hum is silenced, this would be a significant finding, and then I will move full speed to conduct the double-blind controlled study.

As always, I’ll let you know what I find.


13 Comments

  1. Emma says:

    I am very excited about your project and will be awaiting your results. As someone who has had to alter her living situation to prevent the hum from keeping my quality of life from deteriorating, I am grateful for your studies.

    • Hello, this is not so much a reply to Emma,
      (sympathies, Emma, for what you are going through,
      it echoes so many others who have been in contact over many years);
      I am writing here
      because I cannot see where else to……

      A little comment, if I may, on the article above,
      “VLF receivers ordered…”
      …..” if the Hum is silenced….”

      The only thing is, might the steel container also muffle an acoustic Hum,
      and the temptation would be then to say that
      VLF waves were therefore implicated ?
      Just a small point….?

      Could acoustic measurements also be made,
      comparing sounds outside to sounds able to enter the steel box?

      Many thanks. R.M. LFNSH, England.

  2. Arnaud says:

    I’m also very interested about your double blind project but i’m not sure about capacity of a steel container to stop the “VLF” HUM (if VLF we heard are in the audio spectrum), because a Faraday cage will not stop sounds, only RF will be stopped.
    But, but, … We don’t know clearly what we heard so i’m happy to find somebody who making this kind of test to eliminate the possibility of microwave source.

    Best regards

    • tofinosurfer says:

      The first phase is simply me testing whether or not steel sheeting within a steel shipping container can attenuate VLF signals to negligible levels. The full double-blind study will also include a sound-proof box, as well as a control box. All the boxes will appear identical on the outside, and to a person inside. Cheers. gm.

    • Mikael says:

      If I undestand it correctly, the intention of this particular experiment is to study the effect of VLF _radio_ frequencies (electromagnetic spectrum), and not low frequency sounds directly (even though the Hum is perceived as a sound), the theory being that VLF electromagnetic radiation could in some cases cause some kind of auditory perception and thus be a possible explanation for the Hum (where other more conventional sound sources have been ruled out).

      This does seem like a worthwile thing to study, since high-frequency radio (microwave range, i.e. radars and stuff) has apparently been shown to be able to cause auditory stimuli. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microwave_auditory_effect
      (I hadn’t actually heard about this effect before and was kind of surprised, but the wiki-page seems well sourced and I guess the explanation sounds plausible.)

      Please correct me if I misundersdood something. I only arrived here after stumbling over the Wikipedia article about the Hum and wanting to read some more about it.

      Regards,
      a CS student from Finland

      • tofinosurfer says:

        Your understanding is correct. If you have not done so, may I suggest reading David Deming’s 2004 paper, which gives a very good overview of the phenomenon. Cheers. Glen.

  3. Hello, it’s Rosemarie from LFNSH here, in England.
    The experiment of going into the metal storage container sounds like an interesting experiment. I just hoped to add a little something about my humble experiment a few years ago : I took a small portable radio and a mobile phone into a stell storage/shipping container (it was used as a storage shed, at a workshop I was associated with). I wanted to see if the steel container would block reception to the two devices : it did. Does your experiment ‘beam in’ high frequency radio signals? ‘ A ‘C.S.’ student from Finland ‘mentioned it in a comment. I will be interested to learn what you discover, as I would be keen to know whether people CAN detect radio waves, etc, as many suggest they can….(personally I doubt whether people can ‘hear’ radio, m/w, etc waves. That’s why your experiment will be so valuable. By the way, I had a pal who lived for about 16 years at Vancouver. Many thanks, Glen. R.M.

  4. George G. says:

    Hiya Glen,
    Regarding your VLF receiver, perhaps a look at the excellent work conducted by E. Rauscher and W. Van Bise in the late 70’s early 80’s will be of help. (Assuming you haven’t looked at their work already)

    They have saved me hours and helped steer me away from many a red herring.

    Cheers and have fun with your VLF gear.

    G.

    • Could you provide a link to these studies or comment further?

      • George G. says:

        Please Google ‘Bio Harmonic Resonance’ for an overview of Elizabeth’s work history.
        She and her partner’s work on VLF/ELF detection techniques caught my attention after reading a reprint from ‘Tesla: A Journal of Modern Science, 1987’ Google this, read pages 233 to 255. In particular, look at the spectrum graph on page 258. You will see a 30HZ signal which may be of particular interest, especially if your VLF receiver can confirm it exists on an “intermittent” basis.

        I wish you luck with your receiver, it sounds like professional gear. I build most of my equipment for measuring transient signals which are almost DC; anything 2HZ or higher is a nuisance, so I construct my detectors specifically for filtering out mains hum and other man-made noise sources. If ‘the Hum’ ever lurks amongst this noise, I shall never know.

        Happy hunting,

        G.

        P.S. I find these days that any reference to Tesla is often tagged as pseudo-science. This is a great shame, and I’m sure this attitude has impeded many researchers.

      • Thank you for this information. Regarding Tesla: it certainly doesn’t surprise me that he has such a passionate following. He was a towering genius. Gosh, we could sure use him on this project, couldn’t we! Cheers. Glen.

  5. George G. says:

    Sorry Glen, I have given wrong info; The site I meant is;
    ‘Tesla: A Journal of Modern Science, 1997’ ( not 1987. Be sure to click the one with Thomas Velone ref)

  6. Simon says:

    Hi Glen and and all the folks out there. I just wanted to mention that I have been experimenting with brown noise recently and have found it quite effective at masking the hum at night. As I tend to hear it mainly at night, in common with many others, I find that having a CD player with a hour or so of brown noise burned as one track onto a disc playing as I try to nod off quite effective. If I happen to wake up in the night because of being disturbed by the hum, I just stick it on again and eventually I drift off. It is bit annoying at first, but I find you do get used to it pretty quickly.
    Cheers
    Simon.

Leave a Reply

