Home » hum research » Acoustic and Electromagnetic Prerequisites for the Hum Phenomenon – A Pilot Study

Acoustic and Electromagnetic Prerequisites for the Hum Phenomenon – A Pilot Study

Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com
Follow World Hum Map and Database Project on WordPress.com

One common aspect of Hum research is that investigators often to fail to grasp the background to the phenomenon and its scope. Currently a team is being assembled to look into the situation in Windsor, Ontario and, alas, there is no indication that they are aware of the previous research in this area and ongoing scientific investigations (including my own). Reviewing the related research literature is an early and key step in any formal research, yet the Windsor team, as is typical with many Hum investigations, are gathering their sophisticated sound recording equipment for deployment around the Windsor area.

For those who are aware of previous papers on this issue, we know the well documented results that lead to the startling but ultimately reasonable suggestion: the Hum may not be a sound in the typical sense of the word. There is ample evidence from governmental, campus-based, and individual studies that show how people can perceive various frequencies of electromagnetic (EM) radiation. One of the leading hypotheses surrounding the nature of the Hum, which I am testing soon, is that Very Low Frequency (VLF) electromagnetic radiation (<30 kHz) may be a prerequisite for the Hum. I am constructing a very simple device to test this in a double-blind controlled study of Hum hearers.

I’ll provide the initial results here when they are available.


7 Comments

  1. Jennifer says:

    Looking forward to this.

  2. I am looking forward to reading your article.

  3. Arnaud says:

    I’m also very interessed by your futurs results.

  4. Bob says:

    My oh my! Can’t wait till you publish your article.

  5. New Jersey says:

    I have started to hear the hum in Hopewell Township, NJ. It comes and goes, mostly early morning, but can be heard at any time of the day. Several times I have left the house to find the source (i.e., idling car?) only to find that the noise can’t be heard outside the house. It seems to have started after the storm “Sandy” took down many large old trees in the neighborhood (6 months ago). I do not hear the hum anywhere else but in my small home. I thought that I was going nuts and was happy to find this website but would be happier not to have to hear the hum.

  6. Paul says:

    I hear the hum but only during the colder months ,the colder it becomes the louder the hum ,during the summer months I don’t hear it,and in some locations in the winter I don’t hear it ,I use to walk around in the early hours of the morning trying to find its source ,ear plugs solve the problem but don’t allow me to sleep comfortably, on real cold nights I could sense the house vibrating -very weird .
    Its only been a problem in the last 2 years ,prior to that I could sleep thru anything.

  7. Angela says:

    April 2013 I moved from California to Pagosa Springs, Co. I can hear this and also feel somewhat of a vibration. I’m looking forward to finding out what this is.

Leave a Reply

